Dating Truth Serum

Standard

This is a comment that I wrote in response to an article about the show Mike and Molly.

Although this post is not related to Bikram Yoga, I thought it would be worth posting this. Many dating resources tend to soften the truth about the complexities of dating and appearance, but I have decided to cut to the chase with the cold, hard truth.

This is not meant to promote unhealthy exercise and eating habits. This is meant to spark some dialogue.
The Painful Truth About Dating Probability and Appearance

Mike and Molly is one of my favorite shows. Seeing the two characters together doesn’t make me uncomfortable because in my book, they are attractive people and their acting is good. However, I think that this article made me realize that on top of dating being difficult, it is difficult to date and be significantly overweight. I have been on both sides of the spectrum and now I am at an average weight and physically fit, but I definitely am nowhere near having a “perfect body”.

Speaking as a 32 year old single woman who is not in a relationship and is not seeing anybody at all and who has helped out in event planning for singles, it is an unfortunate truth, but appearance does matter when it comes to getting your foot in the door and having a chance at meeting someone. It is a very jagged pill to swallow, but physical attraction has always played an important role in the initiation of romantic exchanges. If a person doesn’t fit into the parameters of what another person thinks is attractive, inside or outside, there is really nothing you can do to convince someone to give you a chance. At least in my neck of the woods, if you want to increase the odds of meeting a wider number of people, you might have to step it up at the gym and make significant changes to your attire and appearance. For the record, I do not have people lined up to ask me out and I am happy with where I am at, but the truth is the truth, even though it hurts.

However, with all that being said, I am a person of faith and I believe that people of all different sizes, ages and personalities can be blessed with a relationship.

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

