The Double: Just what the doctor ordered

Standard

For the past week, I have struggled with the following standing series poses: Part 2 & 3 of Awkward Pose, Head to knee pose and Standing bow pulling pose. I have felt like one of the wobbly inflatable toys with the sand on the bottom. You know, the ones that you can punch and kick down but they keep coming back up.

Nevertheless, I just kept on getting back up and trying the posture again. 90% of the time, I have been able to end the posture by being in the posture.

The case of the wobblies is something that hasn’t happened since I first started practicing. But, I noticed that my balance improved after I did a double last night.

For those who aren’t familiar with all of the Bikram yoga vernacular, a “double” means taking two Bikram yoga classes in a day. So, if you take a “triple”, it means you take three classes in a day. I only know three people who have done three classes in a day. One person didn’t really like it. The other two people enjoyed it.

Anyways, I decided to stay for another class on a whim yesterday. I didn’t have any plans that evening and I felt like my body really needed another class.

I am glad I followed my instincts yesterday because I did pretty well in class this morning, even though I still wobbled around like a wind up toy during balancing series. However, the wobbling time was shorter.

Okay, I have to get away from the computer in a bit and feed The Meow Mixers.

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

