Venturing Out of the Bikram Bubble

Standard

Yesterday morning, I went to a Corepower studio a little bit north of where I live.  Corepower is a chain of yoga studios that offer a variety of classes in mostly heated rooms, although there is a beginners class in a non-heated room.  My friend gave me a voucher because I told him that I was interested in at least experiencing a Corepower class, since it is very popular.  One of my other friends is also a Corepower member and she really enjoys the classes, so I figured, why not?

I broke the ever so important rule of refraining from eating two hours before class.  Firstly, I woke up about an hour and a half before class and my body really craved some solid food.  Had I planned to go to a Bikram class, I would have just sucked it up and went hungry.  So, I had a peanut butter sandwich and plenty of water.  Then, off I went to Corepower.

I am used to seeing a crowd of people congregate in the reception area at my Bikram studio and hearing a lot of chatter among the staff and students.  However, I was only greeted by my Corepower yoga teacher when I checked in.  I expected a bunch of beautiful models to be milling around the studio, but they were probably in the sculpting class downstairs 😉

I was slightly cynical about Corepower because  of the fact that it is a chain studio.  Yes, I know that there is controversy surrounding Bikram franchising, blah blah blah. But I had my doubts when I went to Corepower.  However my doubts were erased when I ventured into the locker room.

I actually felt peace and tranquility.  I knew that I was in for a good experience when I spoke to one of my classmates, who was a very nice lady.

I assumed that the class would be packed, but there were only five of us in class,  my friend and I included.  The instructor was very kind and offered a lot of one on one adjustments.  We also got a very good workout, although I am not used to doing as many inverted poses as did before I started Bikram.  After class, I was wiped out, but I felt a surge of energy after I got home and I got quite a bit of work done for my day job.

I thought I was going to skip Bikram for the day because I had a bar night I was hosting a few neighborhoods away.  However, the class and the liter of coconut water I drank at home gave me so much energy, I decided to go to a Bikram class.  I felt my performance improve compared to the past two days of sitting out of a couple of poses.

I still had trouble with sitting down for triangle pose.  Oh well.

All in all, I am glad that I ventured out of the Bikram Bubble yesterday.  But, when I went to my Bikram studio yesterday, I felt like I had come home.

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

