New Year’s Day Class

Standard

I missed the 4:30 p.m. class at my home studio.  I didn’t fall asleep until 3:45 a.m. on New Year’s Day because I stayed a little later than anticipated at a friend’s party, had an unexpected overnight guest and it took us forever to catch the train back home.

When I came home from church and having brunch with a friend, I went home and took a nap.  I set the alarm for 3:15 p.m., but my body had other plans.  When the alarm sounded off, I shut it off and nodded off again.  Much to my dismay, I woke up at 4:10 p.m.  The walk to the studio is about 20 minutes and if you are a Bikram yogi or yogini, you would know that lateness is not an option.  I contemplated getting a cab, but by the time I rehydrated and packed my clothes, I realized that it would not be worth the hassle of making the trip, only to find that they have locked the door, and class was already in head to feet pose.

I looked on the internet for some area yoga studios.  A studio on the other side of town that I am fond of visiting from time to time was already closed.  I checked another studio and saw that they were actually offering a 6:30 p.m. class at their location in the next neighborhood over.

I registered and paid for the class online, so I would not be able to back out and I went.  I was a bit concerned about practicing in an unfamiliar studio in a neighborhood that I am not very comfortable in, but I really wanted to practice.

I took the bus into the neighborhood and when I stepped into the studio, I felt comforted by the familiarity of the yoga mats and seeing sweaty people from the class that had just let out happily chatting away.  It was comforting to know that I could go to any part of the world and go to any Bikram studio in any part of the world and feel like I am at home.  I am so familiar with the postures now, I can probably even go to a class that is in a completely different language and follow along.

Of course, the class was very great and refreshing.  The instructor was very encouraging and I also liked that she provided the whole class feedback and praises and that she took time helping students individually.  The energy flowed throughout the class and there was an overall peace that surrounded the teacher and students.  It would be nice if she taught a class in my home studio.  I have practiced in classes where I could sense that my stress and other people’s stress filled the air and it makes it difficult for me to really concentrate if I don’t tune into the instructor 100%.

“Taking hydration to another level”

I have decided to explore some non-alchoholic alternatives to have at home so I can lessen my dependence on having an evening glass of wine during the weeknights.  I am not totally rigid about it, but I find that if I wean myself off of anything that is mind altering or mood altering, I will probably be able to live the healthy and simple lifestyle that I really want.  I am not going to give up drinking, but I want to reduce my alcohol expenditures and be able to have less distractions between me and the yoga lifestyle and eventually be able to comfortably merge my yoga life with my real life.

It sounds kind of weird, but I feel as if I have had a near split identity between my “real life” and my yoga practice because I practice frequently, but sometimes it is easy to forget about my practice when I am hanging out with my friends who are not yogis/yoginis and when I am working.  I think that it is good that I have today off, so I could reflect on how I can merge the two identities.

 

“Ms. Half Moon’s Top 10 New Year’s Goals”

10. Sign up for computer/finance courses by fall 2012.

9. Get my butt to touch the earth during fixed firm pose in Bikram.

8. Deep clean my apartment once a month.

7. Draft a workable budget.

6. Increase savings account by at least 50%.

5. Regularly contribute to my own retirement account.

4. Consistently contribute to my church.

3. Meet Mr. Half Moon.

2. Study natural medicine, organic living and aromatherapy as a hobby.

1. Spend a set amount of time every day in mindful meditation.

 

Well, I know that meeting Mr. Half Moon isn’t something I have 100% control over, but it is a pretty high priority for me.  Believe it or not, it is even higher than my career goals.  I know that God is in control and that I have the ability to extend myself to others, so I just need to rethink the way that I spend my time every day.  I spend a lot of time alone during the week, like many other cosmopolitan people in my age bracket.  It is kind of tricky to figure out how to work my way into meeting prospective dates without becoming overly dependent on online dating.  I don’t really like online dating because I used to be very dependent on it and I find that it is not very fulfilling to search through profiles when I’d rather be practicing yoga, watching Anthony Bourdain cuss on No Reservations or even working. I won’t be talking much about finding Mr. Half Moon, or being found by Mr. Half Moon, but if it does happen, I will definitely say something.  However, this is the last time I will discuss this part of my personal life.

Have a good day and a happy 2012!

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

