Pooped & Ms. Half Moon’s attire

Standard

“Why I am tired and why I will not be going to the 4:30 class tonight”

This morning, I went to the 10 a.m. class.  I don’t know exactly why, but I am absolutely tired from practicing today.  The temperature was the same, but I believe that practicing six classes in three days (I enjoy doing double classes when my schedule permits) caught up with me.  During hands to feet pose, I had a very difficult time grabbing my heels from behind my calves.  I also found myself drinking water more frequently during the floor series.  But, what counts is that I made it through every posture and I tried everything 100% the right way.

I think I am going to skip the double today because I have dinner plans with my friend who is visiting from out of town.  I also want to clear the clutter out of my apartment. I also  plan to go to a popular Korean market in the city to buy a few items so I can make bi bim bap, a delicious Korean dish.  Although I will not be actually in the hot room for the second time today, I feel as if I still practice yoga by maintaining a state of mind that embraces simplicity, peace and discipline.

“Kinship among fellow yogis”

At the studio, I had a chance to chat with a fellow student who swears by Bikram.  Hopefully, more people like us will populate the studio and continue to encourage others to step into the hot room and practice.

“Caught on Camera”

During class, a camera crew from a local TV station came to film us.  I wasn’t expecting to be filmed on TV. Surprisingly, I didn’t feel distracted, as they filmed during the standing series.  One Bikram instructor said that you have mastered your practice when an elephant runs through the room and you are still calmly moving in and out of the postures.

“Ms. Half Moon’s Attire”

Since I started practicing Bikram seriously, I have been more relaxed in my dress.  I consider myself to be a fan of fashion, but recently, I have become one with leggings, soft long sleeved tops and furry snow boots.  Sometimes, I wear the same florescent pink Lululemon shirt several days in a row when I am off duty from work.  (Don’t worry, I try to look more presentable at work).  When you work out so hard, so frequently, I can’t imagine wanting to wear “complicated clothes” with buttons and zippers and all of the bells and whistles.  The up side of my casual attitude about fashion is that any temptation to splurge at the clothing store (other than Lululemon) has been squelched because I am so mellow and relaxed on the way home from class, all I want to do is hang out in my apartment.  The disadvantage is that I look like I don’t really care about my body, when the opposite is true and I feel a little bit like a hermit because I am very content to be at home with my kitty, but I do care about people and I do want to connect with people.  Luckily, most of my clothes are soft and comfortable, so I just need to vary my wardrobe a little so I look like I actually care when I do go out.

 

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

