There is always that one pose……

Standard

It seems like every time I am in class, there is that *one* pose that is very difficult to execute in the standing series.  The two asanas that my performance goes up and down in with the most variance is triangle posture or standing bow pulling pose.  Yesterday and today, I noticed a remarkable improvement in being able to balance kicking and stretching 50/50 during standing bow pulling pose, but I plopped out of the posture (kid you not) during triangle pose, which is actually one of my favorite asanas.    Usually, I struggle with standing bow pulling pose, but I guess that every day is just different.

I think that I figured out what is holding me back in my performance in class:  (1) a need to strengthen my core. (2) my fear of falling.  I noticed during awkward pose, during the last part of it, I tend to use my back to get back up.  During the standing series, especially triangle, I noticed that when I sit those hips down, I am so afraid that I will end up splitting myself in half (even though I know I won’t), my hips keep coming up, thus sabotaging the nice 90 degree angle I set up for myself.

One of my instructors advised me to do some stretching to open up my hips, so I have been trying that after class after our final blowing in firm breathing posture.  I think that will help.  As far as dealing with the fear of sitting down into a posture and overusing my back, I just need to think about my core during awkward pose and less about depth.  During triangle, I will just tell myself to sit down and then bring my hips down more when I get the urge to raise my hips (easier said than done).

I think that I can make a second home in my building’s laundry room.  The default activity for me at home is to do laundry because I sweat through my Bikram exercise wear every class and can only wear it once.  I am trying to stay within a budget, so I only own four pairs of hot yoga shorts and four sports bras.  I attend class every day, so I just constantly run back and forth to the laundry room.  It is actually cheaper to constantly do the laundry than it is to keep buying yoga wear.  Besides, who really cares if I keep wearing the same yoga shorts and yoga bra to class?

I also noticed that I go through a ton of bath towels.  I bring two bath towels with me to the studio and I use one for class and then one for the shower.  I don’t mind, because I feel so good after class.

I never thought I would be sitting here blogging about Bikram yoga, because I only intended to take it up as a once a week hobby.  But now I really hope that this blog will keep going because I want to share my passion for the practice with others.

If you would like to share any of your thoughts, feel free to comment or email me at halfmoonchronicles@gmail.com. If you celebrate Christmas, have a very merry Christmas!

Namaste,

Ms. Half Moon

About halfmoonchronicles

Hi, I am a neophyte to the Bikram yoga community. I have been practicing since early October. I would like to share my love of Bikram yoga and wellness with the rest of you through my blog. I live in a major city in the Midwest and I practice in a wonderful studio owned and staffed by some of the dynamic instructors who teach Bikram 100% the right way 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

